Here you can get to know the team at EFNA. Click on each name to learn more about our Board Members, or scroll down to meet our team of consultant staff.


President - Astri Arnesen

Vice President - Russell Patten

Secretary General - Viorica Cursaru

Treasurer - Klaus Knops

Member at Large - Robin Pinkston

Member at Large - Ivanka Jovanović

Member at Large - Gracemarie Bricalli

Member at Large - Julian Spinks

Member at Large - Ingolf Pernice


Dr Orla Galvin

Executive Director

Dr. Orla Galvin

Dr. Orla Galvin came to patient advocacy with a PhD in Medicine and background in drug discovery and design in both academic and industry environments.  Transitioning to advocacy work at the umbrella patient organisation Retina International, Orla led high impact, multi-stakeholder socio-economic studies, patient preference studies, and accessibility studies across the globe assessing both rare and common conditions.

Orla is an internationally invited speaker to both research and clinical learned societies (for example EURORDIS, EU Retina, ERN-EYE), patient organisations, and industries on topics such as:

  • Patient and public involvement in advocacy, research and policy,
  • Research in advocacy and policy/evidence-based advocacy,
  • Education in advocacy,
  • Generation of real-world data,
  • Patient reported outcomes, and
  • Health economics.

Tadeusz Hawrot

Senior Policy Advisor

Tadeusz Hawrot

Tadeusz Hawrot joined EFNA as Senior Advocacy Coordinator in 2018. Tadeusz has spent more than a decade working in the EU environment, including nine years at the European Brain Council. His relevant academic background includes a post-graduate degree in Public Relations held at the Warsaw School of Economics.

Elizabeth Cunningham

Senior Communications Manager

Elizabeth Cunningham

Elizabeth joined EFNA as Communications Manager in July 2015.
She previously worked on projects for the Migraine Association of Ireland, the European Headache Alliance and the Brain Mind and Pain MEP Interest Group. She has a personal interest in neurology having lived with migraine since childhood.
Elizabeth holds an MA in Digital Media Technologies and an honours degree in Media Production and Management.

Orla Fitzmaurice Profile Photo

Communications & Engagement Officer

Orla Fitzmaurice

Orla has spent over 20 years working in website design, innovation and business strategy.  She has a BBS in Economics & Finance and a post-graduate in Business Innovation Management from DCU Ryan Academy.

Orla’s interest in neurology stems from her ADHD diagnosis as an adult.  She works closely with the Adult ADHD community in Ireland facilitating the CBT for Adult ADHD program and support community.